A little bit behind

I’ve been wanting to type something up about this for over a month now, but you know how things get. This is a cautionary tale, so take heed in my own stupidity.
A couple of pieces of advice for those of you going fishing; make sure someone knows where you are; make sure your cell phone is charged and protected, even if you have to get one of those waterproof bags for it; know your own limits; be mindful of your surroundings. With that out of the way, let me tell you my story. Now if you get bored, you at least have my advice.
About a month ago I was fishing at Montour Run. The water was low and clear, and there really weren’t any fish to be found. I had just about called it quits when I noticed a palomino trout that I had been chasing around the stream for a few weeks. I moved over to the giant concrete retaining wall that it was holding next to and began casting to it. What happened next exactly is a little cloudy, but somehow I lost my footing and was tumbling down the 20 feet worth of retaining wall. I kinda remember trying to grab onto something to stop myself. At the bottom I hit something that threw me upside down into the middle of the stream. Luckily, I didn’t hit my head. I think. But my phone, which had been in pocket, was obliterated and my thumb was ground down to a bloody nub. My jeans and hoodie had taken the rest of the brunt of the fall. Of course I couldn’t climb back out the concrete wall, especially now that I was completely soaking wet. No one else was on the trail. It took my about ten minutes to find a spot with some hanging vines and pull myself out of the stream into a nice, safe, and DRY briar patch.
Luckily I was able to get back to my truck and get home and patch myself back up. This is far from the worst injury that I’ve given myself fishing, but definitely ranks in the top two most dangerous encounters I’ve had fishing. If I had hit my head enough to knock myself out, I most likely would have drowned alone in the stream. So when you go fishing, make sure that you aren’t alone, you are safe, and that you have a way to call someone in an emergency.

Leave a Reply

