Canonsburg Lake, the sequel

Of course, I never actually got around to posting about the first day I was out at Canonsburg Lake, but I will get around to it. Let’s do this Tarantino style.
As you’ve hopefully read in my earlier posts, I am trying to work on a couple of designs for fishing lures this year. The dream would be to market and sell them one day, but in the mean time all I can do is design, build, and test. Testing is the best part, because it actually means fishing.
But as I learned last Thursday, testing new lures can be exciting and the single most disgusting thing you can do in a day. For one thing, something that you thought was going to work perfectly is going to fail in ways you never imagined. I know this because of the 5 or so designs I tested, only one succeeded in working the way that I had anticipated. The encouraging thing is that I know what needs to be addressed on each of the designs in order to make them work better.
But one thing will stick with me from Thursday. Fish are bastards. They can behave predictably enough that biologists can write books about their behavior, but the second that you require them to behave as such they will find a way to frustrate you to no end. I suppose that’s how it feels to have children.
Anyway, I was fishing from shore and had spent about 20 minutes fishing a few commercial lures to check for some of the trout that had recently been stocked, used a small jig and tube to catch a few croppies, and had tested a few of my other designs. The next design that I tied on was something that I made up while playing with some clay while watching television, and would be best described as a caricature of a small fish. I was disappointed with it’s performance, but mostly due to my inexperience in designing lures. Since it was molded from something I shaped a few beers into a tv show, it was less than symmetrical where it needed to be, and I have to work on making sure that the resin cures evenly (preventing air bubbles from forming on one side of the lure). I had stopped the lure closer to shore on the third cast, frustrated, when a large bass swam up and grabbed the lure by the head. After shaking the heck out of it for a moment, it spit it out and swam away. Would it have been too much to ask for to have the fish bite the end that has hooks?
Naturally, I can’t wait to rebuild the lure better and do some more testing. But there’s a small hell going on inside my head right now. Did the fish bite the lure because of the pattern I painted it? The shape of the lure as it was sinking slowly? Or was it attracted by the screwed up way that lure was thrashing about?
These are things that keep me up at night.

Leave a Reply

