Dube’s Greenhouses

Since Christmas is now safely behind us, I can now post some pics of a few of the things I was working on.

glass

A little back story; when my mother was growing up, my grandfather owned and operated a greenhouse business in Lewiston, Maine.  The business (and the greenhouses) disappeared in the 70s, and their loss has always hung on my mother’s side of the family.  My uncles managed to buy back some of the property recently, and in the summer of 2016 I was able to go up and visit the old Dube stomping grounds.   As you can imagine, there is a lot of broken glass produced when greenhouses are bulldozed, and the yards of the different properties are littered with it still.  I was able to collect a bunch of the glass and put a few projects together.

The first piece is a three by nine-ish frame of stained-glass style pieces over pictures of the original houses. I bought some copper foil and spent way too much time (and yet still not enough) soldering them together.

img_8844

I had a few smaller pieces left, so I made some ornaments for my uncles to hang.

Hopefully I will be able to visit up north soon and collect a larger amount of glass, since I have a bunch of copper foil left over.

Leave a Reply

